Author Topic: Saw in the Basement  (Read 5365 times)

Graywolf

Saw in the Basement
« on: November 28, 2011, 03:17:21 pm »
I am thinking of moving my Scroll Saw into the basement. It is getting cold in northern IL. and no head in the garage. I tried moving my table saw to the basement last winter. HO Boy!! Saw dust through out the house. Turned the saw off, waited till spring and moved it back to the shop. In the winter my woodworking is shut down. The wife and I quilt in the winter, but I miss making saw dust. I am new to Scrolling and I notice that the dust is really fine and gets all over me and other things. What do you folks think about moving the saw to the basement???    :-\
Thanks

Gary

peterjf50

Re: Saw in the Basement
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 05:12:08 pm »
Mine is in the basement of our condos (storage space) :).  I have it hooked up to a dust collector, 2 inch port and then y split have one piece under the table to grab that and one piece above the blade on the opposite side of the blower nozzle.  (blower nozzle blows the dust to the collector port) Works VERY well.  Only dust now is around the bag seam of the collector itself and going to work on that.  1/2 HP collector (around $99) at harbor freight working great and quiet to boot.

Offline mrsn

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 06:00:15 pm »
Absolutely, Move the saw to the basement. My husband moved most of my shop into our basement a few years ago, and I will never go back outside. My table saw and miter saw are still out in the garage.
I don't have a dust collection system (yet, it is on my christmas list) I have a shop vac that I hook up to my saw. I don't always run it (I probably should) but running it every now and then for clean up works well.
I have 2 scroll saws, drill press, spindle sander, belt/disc sander and band saw in my little shop. The sanders make way more mess then the scroll saw.