Author Topic: Dremel, who uses one and do you get lots of vibration?  (Read 5124 times)

shrimpmojo

Dremel, who uses one and do you get lots of vibration?
« on: May 02, 2010, 12:42:17 am »
I have dremel scroll saw and have been using one for about 1 year. Lately i've been getting lots of vibration. What could be causing this?

Offline towdude3

• View Profile
Re: Dremel, who uses one and do you get lots of vibration?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2010, 01:25:53 am »
i have been using a dremel for about 3 years i think its a 1680 or something like that. i get some vibration but not too bad. i had to change the bearings below the lower blade holder and that helped some. i had a hard time finding the bearings without going thru dremel but i finally found them at grainger for about 4.00 each. i can get you their part number if needed. i have a dewalt also but i'm trying to wear out the dremel before i change to the dewalt. i was told that the 4 legged stand for the dremel causes vibration and that a 3 legged stand is better. Mike

cherie

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2010, 11:28:26 am »
Do you have it bolted to a table?  I had a Dremel that vibrated real bad, so we made a table and bolted it.  Also could be your blade tension and many other things.

Offline crusty59

• View Profile
    • Wood Crafts by Chris
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2010, 01:21:49 pm »
I also have a dremel. It is hwat I used to get started. It vibrated alot. I've got my dewalt now and love it, but I couldn't part with the ole dremel. So I have it bolted to one bench and I keep it set up with scroll sanders. It's loud and vribrates, but it doesn't matter this way

chips

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2010, 04:19:15 pm »
 A Dremel was my very first "real" scroll saw, and it does vibrate a bit on the metal stand I got to go along with it. I didn't think of it as a problem tho as I've done some very fine fretwork with it with no problems. As a possible first saw I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

shrimpmojo