Author Topic: Jointers  (Read 1128 times)

Bill P

Jointers
« on: April 20, 2011, 12:44:32 pm »
I need to get a benchtop jointer.  I have local choices of a Delta, Craftsman, or Porter-Cable.

Any advice?

Thanks, Bill

Mainewoods

Re: Jointers
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 01:08:11 pm »
The only advice I can give is - buy the best you can afford -  I have no experience with any of those jointers.  I do own the Porter Cable planer, which for my uses works just fine.  I'm guessing their jointer is probably about the same quality, so for once in a while use, it'll probably work great.  

I have noticed a lot of heavy duty jointers listed on Craigslist just here in Maine, all at very reasonable prices, so you may want to give that a try too!

Not much help, I know, but, I tried!  ::)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2011, 01:11:30 pm by Mainewoods »

Offline dgman

• View Profile
Re: Jointer's
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2011, 01:17:59 pm »
Bill, Chances are all three were made by the same factory in China. So probably any of the three will work. With that said, I would recommend a full size 6" or 8" jointer. Now I know your shop is in a shed, and you don't have room for a full size jointer, but if it where me, I would make the room!
With a jointer, you are limited to about twice the length of the table size to the board you are jointing. So the longer the table, the longer the board you can joint.
I have my 6" Delta jointer on a Mobile base, so I can roll it around if I need to.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 08:29:44 pm by dgman »
Dan In Southern California

chief

« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2011, 08:15:27 pm »
I have a 6" Craftsman benchtop joiner.  Dont waste your money on the benchtop model.  Save up and buy a floor model with the longer bed, it does a better job of cleaning up the edges and flattening board faces.

Offline Rapid Roger

• Hutchinson, Kansas
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2011, 09:18:43 pm »