Author Topic: Not quite entry level saw and not quite...  (Read 2903 times)

SonOfMartin

Not quite entry level saw and not quite...
« on: February 22, 2011, 08:23:33 am »
Ok, so here is my question....

I'm a rank beginner and started with an AMT single speed saw that I had to run after because it walked all over my shop.

Found a VS Ryobi on CL that has been quite adequate at lower speeds and better once I made a zero clearance insert to cover the gigantic hole in the table.

Now I realize that I can make use of a better saw but I can't afford nor justify a Dewalt or higher price saw.....hence my question...

Are there truly any mid-level saws out there?  I hear good and I hear bad about the Craftsman VS, some people love some hate the PC saw available from Lowes....what's a beginner to buy that can't afford a DW or higher???

Any opinions ?
« Last Edit: February 22, 2011, 02:26:42 pm by SonOfMartin »

emtdonald

Re: Not quite entry level saw and not quite...
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2011, 08:47:04 am »
i have the porter cable and i like it pretty good. you cant beat the price and it comes with a stand. table tilts both ways, blade change is fairly easy. i would reccomend it.

Offline julief

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2011, 08:54:54 am »
Call Ray Seymore at Seyco.  He often has reconditioned EX21s that he takes in trade.  I bought mine that way.  Also look at the recons out there for dewalt.  Other than buying used, it pretty much jumps from the porter cable at about $200 to the Delta at about $450.  Ray goes through his with a fine toothed comb and you are buying as good as new when you buy from him. 

SonOfMartin

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2011, 10:04:36 am »
Can you point me to where I can find reconditioned DW?

Chachi

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2011, 10:23:58 am »