Author Topic: Lemon oil  (Read 6209 times)

cathodge

Lemon oil
« on: December 09, 2010, 09:37:16 am »
I just got an email about using Lemon Oil to finish off a project.  I have a few questions about this. Can it be painted on? I'm in Canada where do you buy it? When do you apply the varnish, after it has dried, how long?
Thanks, Cathy

Offline heiko rettberg

• View Profile
Re: Lemon oil
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2010, 09:51:22 am »
have you look here? steve have on this site an aticle and an video over lemon oil.

http://scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.com

cathodge

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2010, 10:01:05 am »
Thanks I wasn't going far enough into Steve's website.  One more question do you do this before you paint the object?

Offline heiko rettberg

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2010, 10:05:33 am »
yes, befor painting. But i never paint wood so i have no experience with oil and paint.

Offline Rapid Roger

• Hutchinson, Kansas
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2010, 10:14:55 am »
If you are going to paint, don't bother with lemon oil. The lemon oil is suppose to bring out the grain and is used before shellac or polyurethane or any other clear finish. And by the way, lemon oil never completly drys so don't expect it to. It may feel dry but if you don't seal it with a top coat, it will seep out FOREVER!!
I use BLO....Boiled Linseed Oil for most of my projects and then wipe off the excess. BLO will dry after some time and then finish with a clear coat of polyurethane.
Hope that helps.

Rog
An ounce of responsablity is worth 10 pounds of state and fedral laws.

Offline dgman

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2010, 10:57:19 am »
Just as Roger explained above, the lemon oil that Steve uses is to bring out the grain and color of the wood grain. If you are going to paint, it is not necessary to use an oil.