Author Topic: Bent End  (Read 2203 times)

Offline WigWag Workshop

• View Profile
Bent End
« on: September 27, 2010, 08:19:14 pm »
Good Day Folks!

Hope I am not wearing out my welcome with all my questions.  I just changed the blade for the first time, and noticed that the ends are bent, more so on the top end.  Is this normal?  It didn't seem to affect my cuts, that I know of, I have been having issues making turns, but I figured it was because I am just getting started, and I seem to be getting better.

Thanks in advance,

Steven

Offline dgman

• View Profile
Re: Bent End
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 08:31:36 pm »
Hey Steven, First of all what kind, size and brand of blade are you using? The bent ends usually means that you are tightening the blade clamp to tight. If the blade slips in the blade clamp, sand the ends of the blades before you mount the blade. Most blades have some oil on them from manufacturing. So if you sand the ends it will clean off the oil. You want to snug up the blade clamp just enough so you can add the proper tension, but not so much that you bend the ends of the blade.
If you still have problems, post back and we will cover other fixes.
P.S. I live to answer questions from beginners!
« Last Edit: September 27, 2010, 08:34:09 pm by dgman »
Dan In Southern California

Offline WigWag Workshop

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 08:39:55 pm »
Sorry, I forgot to mention the blades I am using - it's a FD SR #5 - I didn't have a problem with the blade slipping, I just inserted the blade and tightened the thumb screw (didn't apply much pressure) then turned the tension lever on the DW788 and plucked the blade until I got a "ping".  I was using Steve's program, that is on the main page. 

Thanks for the quick reply,

Steven

Offline Russ C

• Global Moderator
  • Central Florida - USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2010, 08:57:05 pm »