Author Topic: 1995 Hegner Multimax 18v garage sale find (need advice on clamps)  (Read 5428 times)

bwildered

Newbie here....I was at a yard sale yesterday and a guy honestly talked me into buying this scroll saw for a lot less than anyone on here would ever believe. Compared to the one I rarely use that cost me a Benjamin twenty some yrs ago, this was really nice.  The seller picked it up from a co-worker who's father owned it and evidently she didn't know what it was.  Me either, but it was German, great condition, hardly used and came on a stand with 4-5 inches of scroll saw books and patterns.  Then I got home a Googled it.  WOW.  Little did I know I stumbled across the holy grail of scroll saws. 

Condition wise, it's missing blades and the two blade clamps.  (I'm not going back there to ask) Someone stored it in a garage, so it has a little oxidation on the bare metal fasteners that I already cleaned up.  There was a couple spots of corrosion on the cast aluminum deck that I took steel wool to.  Paint is original, stickers are all unharmed.  The diaphragm dust blower is fine.

My original intent was to keep it, but there's too much opportunity for profit here.  I'm more of a car nut.

My question is this....The clamps are going to cost me 50-60 bucks. Should I invest in the OEM clamps or has Hegner or anyone else improved another clamp that replaces those tedious ones?  Or sell it as is, and let the buyer decide, which I'm assuming would take less for it not running perfectly with a blade in place.   Also, if this were your garage sale find, what's a good price to start with?  Maybe start with Craigslist, I'm not a fan of packing and shipping either. 

BTW,  I'll probably put the books on the internet auction. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.   
Don

Offline Intarsia92

• View Profile
Re: 1995 Hegner Multimax 18v garage sale find (need advice on clamps)
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2013, 04:31:53 pm »