News:

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Converting from XP to Win. 7  (Read 1883 times)
Gabby
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3041


Yer durn tootin'!


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: December 08, 2011, 03:19:25 AM »

I'm still trying to figure out DOS. 
I gave up on that a long time ago!

I'm wondering if there is a way to change back to an earlier format such as is in XP, the semitransparent setup in Win. 7 creates a lot of eye strain. I hate it. I also like to be able to go anywhere by clicking on the start menu as has been the norm forever, this libraries crap is altogether bumfuzzling to me. I'm used to being able to see the full tree when I open "My Computer" that is how I've always set up and stored my files. Is it just my ignorance of the new program or what? I was looking for where the old programs would ask you which start configuration you wanted the new one or the classic, never did find it.
I tried to open the messages setup and it asked for the ID number from the back of the machine, seems they screwed that up during the Referb. So I've downloaded Office 7 with Outlook I'm hoping that will be compatible with all my mail files and at least look familiar.
I still think if it isn't broke DON'T FIX IT!
Disgusted with "IMPROVEMENTS"  Angry Angry Angry
Gabby
Logged

MOLON LABE.
TRUST IN GOD!
 DON'T BELIEVE ALL YOU HEAR & DON'T SAY ALL THAT YOU THINK !
Torsten
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1678



View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: December 08, 2011, 04:11:25 AM »

Gabby, try Classic Shell. It has some XP effects inside, e.g. the start menu that you were used to. Works great.
Logged

regards Torsten    I never finish anyth... 
my Website&StoreMy DaWanda-Shop
BilltheDiver
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1364



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: December 08, 2011, 08:47:48 AM »

If the machine ever had XP installed then it is compatible and you could always format the hard drive and install XP.  If it was made for Windows 7 it may still work, but you could have some hardware that might not be recognized by XP and they might not be compatible.  Give it a while.  7 is a good system.
Logged

"Measure twice, cut once, count fingers"
ChuckD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 614


You can't do it if you don't try!!!!


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: December 08, 2011, 10:40:21 PM »

I'm with Gabby.  I don't like it.  But then I am not a computer whiz and very impatient when it comes to these TV With the typewriter attached.  I have a laptop with Win 7 beside my desktop with XP  and Firefox.  Wonder it I could put FF on the laptop?  That's a thought..
Logged

ChuckD from Beautiful Southern Oregon

It works better if you plug it in
Gabby
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3041


Yer durn tootin'!


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: December 09, 2011, 09:30:58 PM »

If the machine ever had XP installed then it is compatible and you could always format the hard drive and install XP.  If it was made for Windows 7 it may still work, but you could have some hardware that might not be recognized by XP and they might not be compatible.  Give it a while.  7 is a good system.

Bill How would I know if it ever had XP installed? As far as I know it's a new re ferb and all I know is it has Win. 7 now.
Torsten would installing Classic Shell eliminate the see through pages and give me the start tree from the older programs? Or do I have to download something else? I don't want to load anything that will affect the operation of the new computer, I'm just not that savvy. All the cute acronyms leave me totally confused.
Gabby
Logged

MOLON LABE.
TRUST IN GOD!
 DON'T BELIEVE ALL YOU HEAR & DON'T SAY ALL THAT YOU THINK !
kimb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 168


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: December 09, 2011, 09:54:44 PM »

Hey Gabby, if you don't like the see through feature you can turn it off. Go to My Computer(should have said Control Panal-oops), click on appearance and personalization, under personalization click on change window glass colors, then uncheck the little box for enable transparency. On your email you can use windows live in windows 7. It is basically the same as outlook. I set mine up in wndows live and it works the same way and looks about the same as outlook. Hope this helps.

Kim
« Last Edit: December 10, 2011, 06:52:02 PM by kimb » Logged
ChuckD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 614


You can't do it if you don't try!!!!


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: December 10, 2011, 01:11:29 AM »

Thanks Kim, don't know about Gabby, but I will try thet.
Logged

ChuckD from Beautiful Southern Oregon

It works better if you plug it in
Torsten
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1678



View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: December 10, 2011, 08:30:09 AM »

Gabby, the classic shell will bring the old start menu back.
I never could find my peace with the new menus that MS offers since Vista. I want the old menu, that one was great to work with.

And try Kim's suggestion. You can't harm the computer, it will just change the look & fell a bit.
There will always be the option to bring it all back to the original style.

Logged

regards Torsten    I never finish anyth... 
my Website&StoreMy DaWanda-Shop
ChuckD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 614


You can't do it if you don't try!!!!


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: December 10, 2011, 02:44:46 PM »

I may be sneaking into Gabby's question but I have one after following the advise you all have given.  I added Classic Shell and it still looks the same.  Just what changes can I expect?  Thanks for your help.  I really need it..LOL
Logged

ChuckD from Beautiful Southern Oregon

It works better if you plug it in
GrayBeard
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6961


My DW 788 sends you HUGZZZZ!


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2011, 04:59:32 PM »

Chuck...have you re-booted your computer after the changes?


~~~GB~~~
Logged

I never really wanted to grow up....All I wanted was to be able to reach the cookie jar...and play with my DW 788
kimb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 168


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: December 10, 2011, 06:49:41 PM »

Hey Chuck, I messed up on my first post when I said go to my computer. I should have said control panal. Anyway I just tried mine to see what it would do. I went to control panal, clicked on personalization, scrolled down a little bit and found windows classic and I clicked on that and mine changed immediately. I clicked back on my theme I already had set and it changed back. I don't really know why yours doesn't change. Does yours have an apply button you need to press?

Kim
Logged
ChuckD
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 614


You can't do it if you don't try!!!!


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: December 10, 2011, 07:21:27 PM »

Thanks Guys, got it where I want it.  Appreciate your help.
Logged

ChuckD from Beautiful Southern Oregon

It works better if you plug it in
Torsten
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1678



View Profile WWW
« Reply #27 on: December 11, 2011, 06:17:00 AM »

Kim, that's another thingy. the classic shell is a tuning tool, which adds some little functionality.

see the Classic Shell gallery for some info.
Logged

regards Torsten    I never finish anyth... 
my Website&StoreMy DaWanda-Shop
cyberghost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 362


cyberghost


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: December 12, 2011, 12:25:27 AM »

I'm still trying to figure out DOS. 

There is a book call  MS-DOS for dummies at www.dummies.com  lots of other computer and software books.   

I also like Scott mueller's books.  enjoy.
Logged

ChaplainRon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130



View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: January 13, 2012, 02:10:16 PM »

Reading this reminded me of logging into local bulletin boards with my Commodore 64 and a 300 baud modem..... Talk about slow....
Logged

TO THINE OWN SELF BE TRUE.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: