Author Topic: Which Glue for Puzzles  (Read 3786 times)

IBMer

Which Glue for Puzzles
« on: October 12, 2012, 10:47:03 pm »
Hello,   I'm new to the hobby.   I've been playing with making puzzles with mixed results.    First off, I have the wrong blades, and have ordered a bunch of Puzzle specific Dutchman blades (Hoping to see them tomorrow).

My first try was a 4x6 black and white picture printed on photographic paper.   I used plain old wood glue to fix the picture to the 1/4 ply.  I was pretty happy with the results (except for my blades).

I then cut a picture from an old Calendar to a 1/4 board using Aleene's Tacky Glue.  I ended up with a lot of bubbles under the picture even after I smoothed it out with a credit card.  It's almost as if the glue soaked too deeply into the image.  The more I rubbed the bubbles out, the more I damaged the image surface.

Finally, I tried LINECO Neutral pH Adhesive which claims to be for Paper, Board Framing, Book Binding.  It's thinner than Aleene's glue, and spread more evenly on my board.   There was still a couple bubbles under the image en lieu of using a credit card to smooth it.

I'm wondering if an aerosol type permanent spray glue would be better as it would coat the board more evenly?   Can anyone make recommendations on what I should be looking for?   The plywood I'm using is factory sanded, do you guys sand your plywood further before applying the image?   

I suspect that my main problem lies with using too thin of a paper.  Calendar paper is thicker than many, but not quite as thick as photographic paper.   Once dry, I'm coating the images with Tripple-Thick Sealer to protect the image, but the bubbles are forming before I apply this.

Offline BilltheDiver

• View Profile
Re: Which Glue for Puzzles
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2012, 11:16:43 pm »